The Nose Stud Hypothesis

iu

It was a moment of celebration mixed with overwhelming relief. After months of preparation, the sales team presented their pitch. It was a thirty minute multimedia extravaganza.

Afterwards, the team gathered at the Thirsty Pigeon to decompress.

Ed sat down at the table across from Bridgette, Lacy and Darius.

“Bridgette, now that this is over, there’s a question I’ve been meaning to ask you,” said Ed.

Bridgette glanced over at Lacy uncertainly. “Okay.”

“You have a nose piercing,” said Ed. He hesitated nervously.

Darius frowned as Lacy shuffled uncomfortably in her seat.

“What about it?” asked Bridgette.

“I was wondering, if you plug your nose when you sneeze, with the stud shoot out the side of your nose?” asked Ed.

Lacy choked on her wine. Darius shook his head at looked away. Bridgette stared at Ed in stunned silence.

“I mean, I’ve noticed you don’t have a backing in your nose, so there’s nothing really to keep it from blowing out, presumably,” explained Ed.

Bridgette covered her face. “You’ve been looking up my nose?”

“You can’t ask Bridgette something like that. It’s personal,” objected Lacy.

“It’s just a question. I’m not asking her to try it,” Ed said to Lacy. He turned to Bridgette and added, “But if you want to, I’d love to see it.”

Darius growled. “Shut up now,” he whispered.

“That’s totally inappropriate,” said Lacy.

Ed shrugged. “It’s just a question.”

“One you should keep to yourself,” said Lacy.

“Why? I was always told there was no such thing as a stupid question,” said Ed.

“Just stupid people who ask questions,” spat Lacy.

“Hold on. I asked a simple question. It’s practically scientific. You called me stupid. That’s way worse that what I did,” said Ed angrily.

“He is right,” said Darius. “What you did is way worse.”

“Are you kidding me?” asked Lacy.

Darius looked at Bridgette. “You’ve been quiet through all this. What do you think?”

Lacy placed her hand on Bridgette’s arm. “You don’t have to answer that.”

“It’s okay, Lacy. Stop making such a fuss,” said Bridgette. She turned to Ed and batted her eyes. “Actually, I’ve always wondered that myself. Do you want to try and see together?”

Lucy folded her arms in a huff. Darius couldn’t believe any of this was actually happening.

Ed smiled. He and Bridgette got married six months later.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, marriage, nose stud, question, romance, romantic, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

