Selfie Logic

vermeer selfie

“This is so exciting! I’ve always wanted to see Niagara Falls,” said Thea.

“Why is the Canadian Falls so much bigger than the American Falls?” asked Olivia.

“Because Canada’s a bigger country. They should have a bigger waterfall.”

Olivia shrugged. “That makes sense I guess.”

“C’mere. Let’s take a selfie in front of the Falls,” said Thea.

Olivia winced. “I hate selfies.”

“What? Why? They’re awesome.”

“They’re kinda sad. They’re pictures by people who can’t find someone to help them take pictures of themselves,” said Olivia.

“What are you talking about?”

“Think about it. In the old days people used to hand their cameras to helpful strangers and take their pictures,” said Olivia.

“And you think letting some grubby stranger wipe their germs all over your belongings is preferable to taking a picture by yourself,” said Thea.

“Yeah.”

“Why is that exactly?”

“It’s the shared experience. The bonding. How many friendships have been formed by people who meet in these circumstances? How many people have fallen in love? I ask you,” said Olivia.

“I want a picture of myself, not a new set of friends,” said Thea.

“I never thought about it that way before.”

Thea threw up her hands. “That’s why I’m the genius.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Canada, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, Niagara Falls, selfie, short fiction, short story, story, United States and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

