The Skyrim Determination

Skyrim-logo-dragon

“You’ll never guess what I saw yesterday,” Wendy said to Carlo over dinner.

“Do you really want me to guess or are you using a rhetorical device?” asked Carlo.

Wendy rolled her eyes. “It’s a rhetorical device, obviously.”

“Okay, sorry. What did you see yesterday?”

“A hitchhiker. Can you believe it?”

Carlo clutched his chest. “You should say things like that. My heart can barely take the shock,” he said.

“Is that sarcasm?”

“Rhetorical device.”

“You’re hilarious.”

“I know,” said Carlo between bites of spaghetti. “So what was strange about this hitchhiker? Was he carrying a bloody axe and wearing a goalie mask?”

Wendy rolled her eyes again. “You’re not that funny. And it was a she. I’m just saying you don’t see that anymore.”

Carlo took a sip of wine as Wendy spoke. “I still don’t get it,” he said.

“What kind of person would hitchhike in this day and age?

“Maybe she was desperate. Maybe her car broke down,” said Carlo.

“She didn’t look like the kind of person who owns a car,” said Wendy.

“Then maybe she just wants an adventure.”

Wendy stared at Carlo in disbelief. “That’s stupid.”

“What? Some people live for adventure. Not everyone settles for the virtual adventure of Skyrim, or whatever video game your playing,” said Carlo.

Wendy waved her fork at Carlo. “Don’t you dare mock Skyrim,” she said.

“Now that’s stupid. You can’t be serious.”

“Yeah? Well, it’s obvious you don’t get me, so I don’t think we should see each other any more,” said Wendy, getting up from the table.

“You can’t be serious.”

Wendy stuck out her thumb and waved it in Carlo’s face. “Just think of it as my first adventure in real life.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in adventure, break-up, fiction, flash fiction, hitchhiker, humor, humour, relationship, short fiction, short story, Skyrim, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Skyrim Determination

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    They broke up over Skyrim? How shallow can Wendy be? Reality is overrated!

  2. Blue290 says:

    Well it is Skyrim…

Leave a Reply

