After A Meeting With The English Teacher

iu

“I spoke with your English teacher today,” Will said to his son Ronny.

“‘Sup?” said Ronny, his earbuds still firmly implanted in his ears.

“She said you haven’t read a single novel this year,” accused Will.

Ronny chuckled. “Yeah.”

“Don’t you think that’s a problem?”

“Nah,” said Ronny with a smirk.

“What’s so funny?” asked Will. He was growing irritated.

“Nuthin’.”

“I asked you a question,” demanded Will.

“Chill. It’s just Youtube, see?” said Ronny as he showed him a cat video on his iPad.

“That doesn’t explain why you haven’t read anything for your English class.”

“Dad, it’s cool. I just watch the movies. Ms. Norton says it’s okay.”

Will stood there with his hands on his hips. “How’s that okay? It’s English. It’s language. It’s the foundation of all culture and learning. One of the greatest advancements in human history. You can’t just cast it aside for some cat video.”

“That vein in your head’s sticking out again,” said Ronny “I should get that on video. That’d totally go viral.”

Will wiped his brow. “I’m witnessing the death of civilization.”

Ronny didn’t hear what his dad said. He was busy watching another video.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in cat videos, civilization, English, English class, father, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, language, short fiction, short story, son, story, Youtube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

