Outside the Box

iu

Graham sat in the meeting, trying his best to appear engaged. Carter sat across the table, secretly making faces at him.

“What do you think of this Fisher problem, Graham,” barked Mr. Henry, their boss.

Graham snapped to attention. “Well, I think it’s brobdingnagian,” he said, stalling for time.

Mr. Henry nodded knowingly. “I like the way you think, Graham.”

Carter threw up his hands. “What? He made that up.”

Mr. Henry scowled at Carter. “What are you talking about?”

“He makes up a word and you-”

“I didn’t make it up,” interrupted Graham.

“Prove it,” demanded Carter.

Graham looked around the table. All eyes were on him.

“You know what it means, don’t you Mr. Henry?” asked Graham.

“Of course. But you’ve been challenged, man. Defend yourself,” said Mr. Henry.

Graham put his briefcase on the table and hesitated. He reached inside and pulled out a graphic novel.

Carter laughed out loud. “A comic book? You found it in a comic book?”

“Diablo says it in Avengers #41. It’s a real word,” said Graham.

“Is that true?” said Mr. Henry, suspiciously.

“Yes sir. I enjoy reading classic comics. You never know where inspiration will strike,” whispered Graham.

Carter laughed.

Mr. Henry slapped the table. “I love it. Think outside the box. Graham, you’re an innovator. Brilliant. I wish all my people were like you.”

Carter choked as Graham beamed.

“What’s happening?” Carter whispered to Graham.

Graham smiled. “I’d explain it to you, but those inside the box wouldn’t understand.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in brobdingnagian, business, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, meeting, short fiction, short story, story, The Avengers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

