The Sponsorship Initiative

iu

Antonio sat in Stan’s living room, watching him play Skyrim. It was the fifth night in a row and twentieth day that month that they played video games.

In the middle of a fight with a dragon, Antonio got up and started pacing.

“What’re ya doin’? I can’t see,” yelled Stan. He paused the game.

“I can’t keep doin’ this.”

“Aw! Not this again.”

“Life should be more than video games,” complained Antonio.

Stan shrugged. “Why? What do you want to do?”

“I don’t know. I want to do something. Anything. I want adventure. Maybe explore the world.”

“Sounds great. I’ll explore Skyrim while you get a spare million. Every time you do this, it all comes down to the same thing: cash flow. We got no cash, so life can’t flow. Now sit down so I can beat Vuljotnaak,” said Stan.

“Not this time. I got a plan.”

Stan raised an eyebrow at Antonio. “Go on.”

“We get sponsors,” proclaimed Antonio.

“Like athletes?”

“Exactly. We decide what we want to do, then find companies related to whatever that is and make a deal.”

“That’s stupid.”

“No. No, it isn’t. That’s exactly how it works. We’d be living billboards. But we got to get out there. Take the initiative. Plan big,” said Antonio.

“It’ll never happen,” concluded Stan. He restarted his game.

“It can. I read about it online.”

“And the internet is always true,” said Stan.

“It doesn’t matter. Go big or stay home,” said Antonio.

Stan paused his game again. “If you’re gonna freak out like this, then you go home. I’m already here and I’m comfortable.”

Antonio shook his head, then grabbed his coat. “I’m tired of being comfortable. I want to live.” He slammed the door to Stan’s apartment.

“Comfort is living, too,” Stan shouted. He chuckled to himself as he killed the dragon.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, living, short fiction, short story, Skyrim, sponsors, story, video games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sponsorship Initiative

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    At some point you just have to go out!

Leave a Reply

