The Fulcrum of Ordinariness

iu

“I’m so bored,” moaned Frederico. He flipped through an endless number of TV channels.

“Have you ever stopped to think what might be happening around the world?” asked Twila.

“What does that have to do with me being bored?”

“Somewhere, someone is having the worst day of their life. Think about that,” said Twila.

“So? Somewhere, someone is having the best day of their life,” complained Frederico.

“Exactly. And right now, you are the balance between them. You are the fulcrum of ordinariness,” declared Twila.

“What does that even mean?”

“It means that you are the emotional median of civilization. Neither good, nor bad.”

“How does that help me not be bored?”
“Why would you be in a hurry to change?”

“What?”

“Listen. Everything changes, and not all changes are good. If I were you, I’d enjoy this moment before something bad happens,” explained Twila.

Frederico frowned. “You’re saying it’s good to be bored?”

Twila smiled at Frederico with a twinkle in her eye. “Some people are born bored, some achieve boredom, and others have boredom thrust upon them.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in boredom, emotion, emotional, fiction, flash fiction, fulcrum, humor, humour, ordinary, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

