Ideas of Heaven

iu

Megan sighed as she walked past the withered blooms in her flower garden. She looked beyond to the cucumbers and pumpkins nearly ready for picking. The thought of a bountiful harvest after months of hard work made her smile.

It was the bittersweet experience of strolling through her garden that made Autumn her favorite season.

“Mom, how long do we have to be out here?” moaned Tyler.

“It won’t take long. We just have to pour bags of mulch on the perennial garden,” replied Megan.

“How many bags?”

“Seven or eight,” said Megan.

Tyler let out a high-pitched wail that grew in intensity.

Megan stared at her teenaged son with her hands on her hips. “If you put half as much effort into the mulch as you do caterwauling, we’ll be done in no time.”

“Child labour is illegal,” grumbled Tyler.

“I dare you to find a single police officer who’d define what you’re doing as labour,” snapped Megan.

Tyler picked up a bag of mulch and carried it to the flower bed. “It’s still not fair.”

Megan glared at Tyler. “When I was your age, I used to love helping my mom in the garden.”

“That was before they had technology.”

“What are you saying?”

“You had nothing better to do with your time,” sniped Tyler.

“What would happen to our world if all everyone ever did was play video games and watch cat videos on in the internet?”

Tyler smiled. “I think that’s what heaven is like.”

Megan growled softly.

“What?” asked Tyler.

“You and I have very different ideas of heaven.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Autumn, fiction, flash fiction, garden, gardening, heaven, humor, humour, mother, short fiction, short story, son, story, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ideas of Heaven

  1. Pat says:

    So very true.

Leave a Reply

