Midlife Crisis

iu

It was the end of a long day at the office. Elvina arrived home to discover Arnot sitting at the kitchen table, leaning over a notepad.

“Hi,” said Elvina.

“Hey,” mumbled Arnot. His focus never left the notepad.

“What’re you doing?”

“I’m thinking,” said Arnot.

Elvina rolled her eyes and sighed. She was too tired for his theatrics.

“I’ll leave you to it,” said Elvina, kissing him on the forehead.

Arnot stopped and looked at Elvina for the first time. “You aren’t going to ask me what I’m thinking about?”

“You looked so focused, I didn’t want to disturb you,” said Elvina. She smiled knowingly.

“Take a look,” said Arnot. He held out the notepad.

Elvina glanced at his scrawl, but was too tired for guessing games. “And these are?”

“Possible names. I’m going to start my own business.”

“Why?”

Arnot slapped his hand on the table. “I’m tired of working for other people. I want to make something for myself.”

Elvina focused on the list again “Okay, ‘Two Bits Computer Center’, ‘Hamfisted Deli’, ‘Splashin’ Fashion Swimwear’. You don’t know a thing about any of these things. ‘Custard’s Last Stand Bakery’? You burn soup.”

Arnot looked at Elvina with desperation. “I’m fifty-one years old, and what have I accomplished? I’ll learn what I need to learn. It’ll be my great adventure.”

Elvina hesitated. “Alright, but ‘Voice of Raisin Fruit Shop’?”

“It’s a play on ‘voice of reason’. Get it?”

“Yeah, but I think you lost it,” said Elvina, looking over the page. “‘Superstructures Architecture’. That’s a whole new degree. You’d be nearly sixty before could do that.”

“So? Shoot for the stars, because if you fail you still land on the moon.”

“More like burn up on impact.”

Arnot pulled the notepad from her hand. “Go ahead. Laugh now, but you won’t be laughing when I’m a huge success.”

Elvina watching Arnot stomp out of the kitchen. “Only twenty-five more years until retirement,” she sighed.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, midlife crisis, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Midlife Crisis

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Gee Arnot, forget the business and by a Harley! Great story.

Leave a Reply

