Honest Phubbing

iu

“So I told him that if he wants to push the project through, he has to go through Eileen. But Andy wouldn’t listen, which puts me in an awkward position,” said Julie, while eating dinner.

Sal pulled out his phone and started texting.

Julie noticed him and interrupted her story. “Did you just phub me?”

Sal didn’t respond.

“Sal,” snapped Julie.

“Huh?” mumbled Sal. His eyes never left his glowing screen.

“Stop phubbing me!” shouted Julie.

Sal finally looked up. “I’m what now?”

“Phubbing me. I can’t believe your phubbing me.”

“Why does that sound so dirty?”

“It means phone snubbing. I was saying something important and you ignored me by checking your phone. It’s rude,” explained Julie.

“Just to be clear, I was ignoring you long before I started checking my messages.”

“Wah?!?” sputtered Julie. Her face flushed with rage.

Sal leaned back in his chair. “Relax. It’s not the end of the world. You act like I’m cheating on you or something. Hardly.”

“It’s about respect.”

“I respect you enough to tell you the truth, don’t I? So what if I sneak a peak at my phone now and again?”

Julie was about to speak, then hesitated.

Sal leaned forward, filled Julie’s glass with wine, then said, “You were telling me about Andy and Eileen.”

Julie was stumped. “Huh,” she said, then continued with her story.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, phubbing, relationships, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honest Phubbing

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Who said, “You can’t walk, talk and chew gum at the same time!” Back in my day it was called multi-tasking.

Leave a Reply

