What the Subconscious Reveals

iu

Just after lunch, Edgar found Rex in the break room. “Dude, you look tired.”

“I’m exhausted, man,” replied Rex.

Edgar slapped Rex on the back. “Too much partying.”

“No, man. I’ve been having these weird dreams. Last night I dreamt I was in a meeting but I had to cut my toe nails, so I start trimming them in the boardroom. Dude, they were nasty. When the boss called me out, I slammed my bare foot on the conference table, except it wasn’t my foot.”

Edgar wore an analytical expression on his face. “Go on.”

“It was the foot of some dinosaur with huge claws. Every time I clipped a talon it tried to bite me.”

“That’s messed up,” said Edgar.

“When I finished, the dinosaur spread it’s wings and took off with me on it’s back,” explained Rex.

“Around the boardroom?”

“Outside. It’s like there were no windows, so it just flew. We circled around for a bit then landed back at the meeting. Then the dinosaur tore apart everyone around the table,” said Rex.

“Wait, was I there?”

Rex nodded, meekly. “Sorry, dude.”

“That’s really messed up. I can’t believe you let your pet dinosaur eat me like that.”

Rex looked concerned. “You don’t think I’ve got something seriously wrong with me in the head? I mean, you have dreams like that, right?”

“Most of my dreams involve supermodels in lingerie.”

“Those sound so much better,” said Rex.

Edgar smiled. “They are, dude. They so much are. Hey, check the time. It’s time for the strategic planning meeting.”

Rex groaned. “Not another one. You go on ahead. I’ll catch up with you.”

“What’s up?” asked Edgar.

Rex hung his head. “I wanna see if I can find that dinosaur.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in dinosaur, dream, dreams, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, meetings, office, short fiction, short story, story, subconscious, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What the Subconscious Reveals

  1. Pat says:

    I think there are some issues with over working happening here.

  2. Mel A Rowe says:

    Dinosaurs & toenails – imaginative, unique tale I’d never thought to read- Brilliant!

  3. misskzebra says:

    So would that dream count as pleasant or a nightmare?

Leave a Reply

