The Power of Music

iur

Music from the Baby Einstein CD played softly as Alicia dozed peacefully in her crib. Her parents Geoff and Priya watched from the doorway.

“It never fails,” whispered Priya.

“I though she’d never settle down,” said Geoff.

They silently slipped from the room and closed the door.

“I wonder what it is about music that affects us so much,” said Geoff.

Priya rubbed her eyes. “After today, just be thankful it does.”

Geoff agreed. “Seriously, though. I wonder what it is. It isn’t like music exists in nature.”

“That’s not true. There are rhythms all around us.”

“That’s just one part of music. There’s melody, harmony, pitch. It can get really complicated. And only humans make music. How did that even happen?” asked Geoff as he landed on the couch.

“It’s too late to think about this,” said Priya.

“I just don’t get it.”

Priya turned to Geoff with a serious look. “We’re finally alone. If you don’t shut up soon, you won’t get me. Understand?”

“Oh, right,” said Geoff. He leaned in and kissed Priya. “You want me to put some music on?”

Priya’s hazel eyes looked longingly at Geoff. “Of course.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, music, romance, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

