The One Percent of Culture

iu

“Have you noticed that culture has become mostly a spectator activity? asked Marvin, breaking a long silence.

“I can honestly say I haven’t,” replied Grant. He was mildly irritated. Marvin always asked questions at the most inopportune times.

The two sat in the deer blind in silence for a minute.

“Okay,” said Grant, “why do you say that?”

Marvin smiled at breaking down Grant’s resolve yet again. “We observe culture, we don’t engage in it. Think about it. We watch stuff like sports and movies and Youtube. We listen to music. Back in the day we all sang and danced and told stories. Now we watch others do that. Weird, eh?”

Grant looked out at the woods. Everything was quiet and still. “I dunno. Maybe culture’s changed.”

“That’s what I’m saying. It’s changed, but not for the better.”

“Why do you say that?”

Marvin blew his nose. Grant watched a flock of startled birds fly away.

“A very small few are in charge of culture. They’re deciding what’s valuable. I hear folks say one percent holds all of society’s wealth. I think one percent controls our culture,” said Marvin. His enthusiasm was scaring the deer away.

“So?” asked Grant. He was immediately sorry he asked.

“It means one percent is deciding the values in our society. That’s what culture means, right? We express our values through culture. But that’s the thing. The ninety-nine percent don’t have any control over cultural expression. It’s a travesty.”

Grant thought for a second. “I’m not buying it.”

“Really? When was the last time you saw a TV show or movie or anything that was pro-hunting? The one percent is trying to eliminate it from society. It’s a value they’re pushing on us,” said Marvin. His voice was getting louder and louder.

“I hadn’t thought about it that way.”

“I’m right, aren’t I? Admit it. I’m right,” said Marvin.

Grant frowned. Outside the blind there wasn’t a creature to be found. “I don’t know about culture and the one percent, but the only thing that stops hunting around here is you.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Percent of Culture

  1. Pat says:

    Just love it. Now enjoy your vacation.

Leave a Reply

