Winter Dandruff

iu

Brent looked out at the snowstorm. The sound of the arctic wind howled through the porous windows. “Remember when snow was fun?”

“No. I hate winter. Always have,” replied Wanda.

“Okay, but it was fun for me. Snowball fights, building snow forts. Great stuff.”

Wanda put her hands on her hips. “You wanna have a snowball fight?”

Brent raised an eyebrow. “Maybe after I shovel. I’ll call you when I’m done.”

“Are you nuts? I’m not going there. It’s freezing.”

“That’s what I’m saying. When we were kids we never noticed the cold. Now, I look outside and all I can see is more work. It’ll take me half an hour to shovel all this winter dandruff,” complained Brent.

Wanda choked on her coffee. “Winter dandruff?”

“I’m tryin’ something new.”

“Keep trying. I’ll make a deal with you. You shovel the winter dandruff and I’ll sit in the living room imagining I’m on a warm beach.”

As Brent slipped on his boots, he looked at Wanda. “I really don’t wanna do this.”

Wanda opened up a book as she nestled on the couch. “Better you than me.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Dandruff

  1. Pat says:

    Well it is true, when I was a kid I never noticed the cold as much as I do now. Calling snow by any other name does not change the fact.

Leave a Reply

