Got Purpose? The Man Who Declared Himself Emperor

iur

It only occurred to Clement after he was standing in the middle of the park that he had no idea how to contact George. Now that he was by himself in an empty field he felt silly. It was with a sense of relief when he spotted Alabama Hanna. She saw him and waved.

“Hello,” she called out.

“How’s things?” asked Clement.

Hanna breathed in the fresh morning air. “Just living out loud.”

“Listen,” said Clement, “if you have a second I have a question. Do you know George Twill?”

Hanna’s smile disappeared. “Unfortunately.”

“Would you know where I could get a hold of him?”

“Why would you want to do that?” asked Hanna.

“I take it you don’t like him very much,” said Clement.

“What’d you know ‘bout him?”

Clement put his hands in his pockets. “I know he’s Emperor Don’s brother.”

“Like they say, you can’t choose your family,” grumbled Hanna.

“Is he that bad?”

“Worse.”

“Why?”

Hanna looked to the sky, then back at Clement. “Do you have a calling?”

Clement frowned. “A what?”

“A life’s purpose. A divine appointment.”

“Like a mission?”

“Sometimes.”

Clement thought for a second. “I don’t know.”

“If you had one you’d know. Even if you didn’t want it you’d know,” explained Hanna.

“How do you get one?”

“You don’t. It gets you.”

“How?”

“I told you. It’s divine,” said Hanna.

Clement was confused. “What’s this got to do with George?”

“Not a darn thing. But it has everything to do with Emperor Don. He’s got an important calling.”

“Really? What?”

“He helps others find their calling,” said Hanna.

“Did he help you?”

“Yep.”

“Can he help someone like me?”

“Of course he can. As long as his useless brother doesn’t get his hooks in him.”
“What’d you mean by saying I’m not content?” demanded Becky. She caught up to Emperor Don at the opposite end of the park from Clement and Hanna.

Don smiled. “It’s nice to see you again.”

“Whatever,” snapped Becky. “You’ve got a lotta nerve.”

“Only when necessary, actually.”

Becky shook her head and glared.

“You were talking about your discontent,” added Emperor Don, gently.

“I didn’t say I was discontent. You did.”

Don shrugged. “Was I wrong?”

“No. Well, maybe. I don’t know,” stammered Becky.

“Why do you think that is?”

Becky whispered. “I don’t know.”

Emperor Don smiled warmly. “Perhaps it’s time we figured it out.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

