The Dilemma- The Man Who Declared Himself Emperor

iu

The door to the apartment creaked open at one o’clock in the morning. Clement tried to slip in unnoticed, but was thwarted by a pair of boots. He tripped into the closet door, knocking it off it’s hinges. An avalanche of winter coats fell on his head. Clement pulled the last coat off his head, only to see the blade of a hockey stick crack the side of his head.

When he regained consciousness, his eyes slowly adjusted to Becky looming over him, hockey stick in hand.

“What’re you trying to do, kill me?” he demanded.

“Don’t tempt me,” replied Becky. She followed behind as he crawled to the couch.

“I’m such a fool,” lamented Clement as he remembered his conversation with the mayor.

Becky admired the blade of her hockey stick. “I shoulda tried this earlier.”

Clement groaned.

“If it’ll help, we can make this a routine thing,” added Becky.

“I’m serious. I’ve really messed things up.”

“Admitting it is the first step to recovery,” sniped Becky.

“Are you trying to pick a fight?”

“I gotta admit, it’s better than the silence between us the past few days.”

“Add it to the list of my mistakes,” said Clement. He rubbed the side of his aching head.

Becky’s expression morphed from frustration to curiosity. She sat next to her husband. “What happened?”

“I was kidnapped,” said Clement dramatically.

“What?”

“All you did was add insult to injury,” grumbled Clement, pointing at her weapon.

Becky saw he was serious and put her hand over her mouth. “I’m sorry. Is that where you were? I thought you were staying away to punish me.” She put her hands around Clement.

The two sat in silence for a minute. Without warning, Becky sat up straight and looked at Clement with wild eyes.
“Wait,” she said, “I have, like, a thousand questions. What did they want with you? How did you get away? Are we in danger? Why haven’t you called the police?”

Clement shook his head slowly. “We can’t call the police. I was taken by the mayor.”

Becky stared blankly back at Clement. “Is this a joke? This better not be a joke because it’s not funny.”

After a long breath, Clement sat on the edge of the couch and held Becky’s hands. “A week ago I helped George Twill put Emperor Don away. I testified that he was mentally unfit.”

Becky’s eyes flared. “You did what?” She pulled her hands away and stood up.

“I know. I shouldn’t have gotten involved. George scammed me.”

“Ya think?!?” shouted Becky.

“George used me to bump Don out of the family inheritance.”

“Not to mention ruin the life of a good man,” seethed Becky.

“Tonight I discovered the mayor is Don’s cousin and they’re close. He told me to fix this or else. He said he’d ruin me,” explained Clement.

“He’s right,” agreed Becky. She paced the floor of the living room.

“It’s not that simple. If I recant my testimony I’d perjure myself. Becky, that’s a serious crime. I’d get fired for sure. I might even do jail time.”

Becky stopped pacing. She glared at her pathetic looking husband. “You have to talk to Emperor Don.”

“Why? He probably hates me.”

Becky sat down beside Clement. “It’s about time you found out who he really is.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dilemma- The Man Who Declared Himself Emperor

  1. Pat says:

    This is soooo good.

Leave a Reply

