A Brick Wall- The Man Who Declared Himself Emperor

iu

“What’s your plan?”

Becky sat across from Clement at the Bagel Fortress Bakery. She was waiting for an answer.

“Technically, I don’t have to do anything,” concluded Clement.

“What would the Mayor say to that?”

Clement tilted his head. “What could he actually do to me?”

“Make our lives a living hell,” said Becky.

Clement leaned back in his chair and sighed. “Emperor Don mentioned something about Durable Mike.”

“What did he say?” Becky leaned forward.

“I think he believes Durable Mike can still speak. He thinks the mute thing is just an act.”

Becky’s eyes lit up. “Prove that and their case goes out the window.”

“How does that help me? I gave testimony, too.”

“No, you provided corroboration. If you can prove they’re working a scam you can also claim to be one of the victims. You can say you were fooled by them like everybody else,” exclaimed Becky. Clement could almost see the wheels turning in her head. “This could work.”

“If Emperor Don is right, all we need to do is make Durable Mike talk.”

“He’s right. He’s always been right. You haven’t believed it, but it’s true,” said Becky.

Clement grimaced. He was loathed to admit it, but Becky was probably right.

“What’s your plan?” asked Becky.

“I don’t know. I can’t think of anything. I’m a complete blank,” mumbled Clement. His frustration built until he pounded the table with his fist.

“We’re in trouble,” sighed Becky.

Sitting discretely at another table, Special Ed eavesdropped on their conversation. His lips turned upwards into a sly grin. Clement may not know what to do, but he did.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Brick Wall- The Man Who Declared Himself Emperor

  1. Pat says:

    Love it. Keeps getting better and better.

Leave a Reply

