The Mysterious Psyche of Pigeons

iu

Claudio was driving with his daughter Maria on a beautiful day in the city. Out of the corner of his eye he noticed two pigeons flying toward the side of his car. The first pigeon turned away at the last second. The second flew directly into the window of the driver’s side door. It ricocheted off with a poof of feathers and crashed on the road behind them.

“Did you see that?” asked Claudio.

“What happened?” replied Maria.

“A pigeon flew into the car. It didn’t change directions or anything. Just Bam! Splat! Stupid bird.”

“Weird. Why’d it do that? Was it suicidal or something? Can pigeons even be suicidal?” asked Maria.

“I never thought about it before. I wouldn’t think so.”

“Me neither.”

“Now I’m not so sure.”

“Me too,” said Maria.

The two rode in silence for a minute, still startled by the traumatic event.

“I wonder what would bring a pigeon to commit suicide?” Claudio thought out loud. “Could a pigeon’s life ever get so bad it would want to kill itself?”

“There were two of them, right? Maybe they were playing ‘Chicken’? Like, who could fly closest to the car?” asked Maria.

“Huh. I hadn’t thought of that.”

“Then again, maybe it was just a stupid pigeon,” concluded Maria.

“Whatever it is, it’s certainly not something you see every day,” said Claudio.

“Thank God,” said Maria, “That was gross.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Mysterious Psyche of Pigeons

  1. Pat says:

    Not something I think about very often. Thank you for bringing it to the forefront today. Just one more thing to worry about. LOL. Stupid pigeons, we have lots in Hamilton.

  2. Pat says:

    My sister Linda wants to know what kind of a world are we living in that pigeons are omitting suicide?

  3. Pat says:

    That is committing

Leave a Reply

