Power Burning

iu

Sid gave a double take when he saw Vern enter the room. Vern was in obvious pain. His shoulders were hunched, arms extended at his side and he was as rigid as a board. Topping it off, his skin was bright red.

“What happened to you?” asked Sid.

“Went to the lake,” replied Vern.

“You forget sunscreen?”

“Kinda. Phil took me power burning,” explained Vern.

“Should I even ask?”

Vern shuffled to a chair and gingerly sat down. “Phil and I took his aluminum canoe into the middle of the lake and lay there for hours. It was like roasting in an oven.” He whimpered has he leaned back.

Sid stared at the human lobster before him. “Words fail me,” he said.

“I’m never doing that again.”

“Why’d you do it in the first place?”

“Phil said it’d be fun.”

“And you believed him?”

“Why not?”

“It’s called ‘power burning’. The name should be self-explanatory,” said Sid.

“Phil said I shouldn’t knock it ‘til I’ve tried it. It’s an experience.”

“So is rattlesnake kissing and lava surfing. Not every experience is worth having.”

“How would you know unless you tried it?” asked Vern.

Sid choked. “Is that a serious question?”

Phil shrugged. “Yeah.”

At that moment Sid got up and crossed the room. He smacked Vern on the back and smiled at the resulting scream. “Just wanted to help you relive the experience.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Power Burning

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    This has just inspired me to go “tornado riding”. Sweet!

  2. Pat says:

    Sounds like so much fun. Wonder how many will try it at the youth retreat?

  3. cat9984 says:

    It hurt to read this. That’s a compliment, I think.

Leave a Reply

