Trump Versus Hillary

iu-1

When Sophia got to work Liam was already at his desk. He was staring at his computer screen, shaking his head in dismay.

“Good morning,” said Sophia.

“Yep,” mumbled Liam.

Sophia stopped and looked over Liam’s shoulder. “What’re you watching?”

“News videos,” said Liam.

The two watched a report on the presidential election.

“I didn’t know you were into politics,” said Sophia.

“I’m not. I really like watching train wrecks.”

“It’s not that bad, is it?”

Liam looked at Sophia in disbelief. “This election is the modern illustration of the saying, ‘rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic’.”

Sophia rolled her eyes. “You’re overreacting.”

“Wha-,” Liam choked on his words. His eyes were wide and his face flushed crimson. “Three hundred and sixty million people in America and they whittle it down to these two: a lying, cheating, napoleonic career criminal and a megalomaniacal, loud mouth misogynistic fool. How bad is it? The only argument anyone has for their candidate is that the other one is even worse.”

“Okay,” said Sophia. “That’s my fault. I wound you up.”

“Politics has literally fallen to the lowest common denominator. It’s not an election, it’s a four year sentence for national stupidity.”

“It doesn’t really matter that much, does it?” asked Sophia.

Liam coughed. “Doesn’t matter? The world’s leading free democratic society is plunging into chaos. Worse yet, no one offers any real hope. How could they? Civility is dead. All people do is yell at each other. It’s disgusting,” said Liam. He was hyperventilating.

“I’m sorry I brought it up,” said Sophia. “Let’s start this day over again, okay? Let’s just calm down. Breathe. That’s it.”

With Sophia patting Liam gently on the back, he slowly settled down.

“I’m sorry, I don’t know what came over me,” confessed Liam.

“It’s okay,” said Sophia. “You’re just suffering from an acute case of reality.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trump Versus Hillary

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    Like I have said all along. It’s like watching ” Dumb and Dumber” over and over again. Talk about hell!

  2. cat9984 says:

    Perhaps the Founding Fathers had a premonition when they tried to keep the masses from voting

Leave a Reply

