The Mystery Text

iu

During their break, Maria met Angie for their usual coffee klatch in the staff lounge. Angie’s phone chimed. Her face drained as she read the text.

“What’s wrong?” asked Maria.

“Listen to this text. ‘Just wanted YTK my mom died last night. Could use a friendly shoulder’,” read Angie.

“That’s awful. Is it somebody I know?” asked Maria.

Angie looked at Maria with a pained expression. “I have no idea who this is. All I have is a number.”

“What? Lemme see,” said Maria. The two examined the text.

“Don’t you recognize the number?” asked Angie.

“No. Don’t you?” asked Maria.

“I’ve never seen it before.”

“What are you gonna do?” asked Maria.

“I have to reply something,” said Angie.

“What are you gonna say?”

Angie spoke as she typed. “Sorry to hear about your mom. LMK if I can do NE thing.”

“That’s comforting, yet noncommittal,” said Maria.

“Most people just wanna know you care,” reasoned Angie.

“That makes sense.”

The phone chimed again.

“What’s it say?” asked Maria.

“I was hoping you could speak at the funeral. She always saw you as a daughter,” read Angie. She dropped her head in her hands. “You gotta be kidding me.”

“It’s gotta be somebody close, right? Anyone you know with a sick mom?”

Angie shook her head slowly. “I can’t think of anyone. This is so stupid.”

“Maybe it’s a practical joke or something,” suggested Maria.

“It’s really cruel if it is. Argh. This is so frustrating! Who are you?!” she yelled at her phone.

“You can’t keep them waiting forever. What are you gonna text back?”

“What can I do?” asked Angie. ‘That would mean a lot to me. LMK the funeral deets,’ she typed.

Several minutes passed and no reply came. The two stared nervously at Angie’s phone.

“What’s taking so long?” asked Angie.

“Maybe they’re busy with other stuff. These things can get crazy,” said Maria.

“Crazier than agreeing to give a eulogy for someone you don’t know?”

“Think. You gotta know them,” stressed Maria.

“My brain hurts,” complained Angie.

Angie’s phone chimed. Both of them jumped. Angie’s mouth dropped as she read the text.

“What?” asked Maria.

Angie handed her the phone. Maria laughed out loud.

She read, ‘UR amazing. Thanks for offering, but sorry wrong number.’

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mystery Text

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    Why is it I can see all these stories of yours happening in front of me! 🙂 Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

