Independent Thought

danger-conformity-hazard-contains-possibly-new-information-which-may-stimulate-independent-thought

Kat arrived at the boutique where Melissa was waiting.

“Sorry I’m late. I just had the strangest thing happen,” said Kat.

“Don’t worry ‘bout it,” replied Melissa, glaring at her late friend.

Sitting down, Kat continued, “Some random guy told me I was pretty…”

“An unwanted sexual advance is harassment,” interrupted Melissa. “It’s like verbal rape.”

Kat stared blankly at Melissa. “Let me finish. He said I was pretty- in my own way.”

“Wait, what? Is that supposed to be a compliment or an insult?”

“I know right? I have no idea. I didn’t know what to say,” said Kat.

Melissa sat up in her seat. “Yeah, well, men. Who needs ‘em?”

Kat tilted her head. “I’ve always wondered about that.”

“What? We don’t need me to be happy or fulfilled,” said Melissa.

“Does that mean all we need are other women?”

“Exactly.”

A pained expression spread across Kat’s face. “I’m not sure that’s right. I mean, it don’t think I wanna be that way.”

“Be like what?”

“An all-or-nothing ideologue.”

“But we’re feminists,” declared Melissa.

“Most feminists I know are angry. Who wants to live like that?” asked Kat.

Melissa folded her arms and sighed. “So you want to deal with chauvinist pigs the rest of your life?”

“No! But I’m not naive enough to believe all men are pigs, or foolish enough to think all women are wonderful.”

“You’re delusional,” dismissed Melissa.

“I’m just tired of being told what to think. Even by women. I can make up my own mind, thank you,” said Kat.

Melissa’s jaw dropped. “Don’t tell me you’re abandoning the sisterhood!

Kat got up to leave. “Just call me an independent.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Independent Thought

  1. afarawayhome says:

    Hehe, gotta be independent!

  2. cat9984 says:

    The eternal conundrum of feminism

Leave a Reply

