The First Snow Fall

iu

The first significant snow fall of the year was discovered that morning by Amy. “Mommy! Daddy! Look!” she squealed.

Daddy opened the front door with coffee in hand. The outside world made him groan.

“Close the door! It’s freezing outside,” said mommy. Dressed in her fluffy bathrobe, she stood beside daddy.

“Are the schools gonna be closed?” asked Amy.

“No. Go eat your breakfast,” said mommy. She ushered her seven year old back to the kitchen.

“Traffic is going to be chaos,” lamented daddy.

“It’s so pretty,” said Amy.

Daddy closed his eyes and shook his head. “I haven’t even put on the snow tires.”

Mommy wrapped her arms around daddy at the front door. “Amy is right. Everything looks so fresh and clean. It’s like a beautiful white blanket.”

“Oh man, I have to shovel the walk before I go,” said daddy. He gulped his coffee. The heat burned his throat. “Ugh.”

“Take it easy,” replied mommy. “It’ll be okay.”

“I hope I can find the shovel,” grumbled daddy. He moped inside to prepare for the day ahead.

Amy tugged at mommy’s robe. “Can I make a snowman before school?” she asked.

“I don’t think so. We don’t have time,” replied mommy.

“Aw.”

“After school,” said mommy.

Amy flitted through the living room. “Yeah!”

Mommy watched at the large flakes tumble to the ground. The silence was conspicuous. She closed the door and watched her husband and daughter move around the house. She smiled and thought to herself, what a difference the years make.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Snow Fall

Leave a Reply

