New Years for the Millenial Age

iu

When Emily arrived at the New Year’s Eve party, the first person she looked for was Nathan. Even before she could scan the room, Nathan found her.

“You made it. Great,” said Nathan.

His enthusiasm made Emily blush. “Thanks.”

It was at that moment she noticed Nathan was wearing a GoPro on his chest.

“What’s that?” she asked.

“It’s a project I’ve been working on. I’m gonna wear a camera 24/7 for a full year and stream it online,” explained Nathan.

Emily took a step back. “Are you streaming now?”

Nathan laughed. “No. It starts at midnight.”

“And you’re gonna wear it non-stop for a year? Like, for everything you do? I mean, everything?” she asked.

“Yep. It’s hyper-reality. Some of it’ll be boring, I guess. That just makes the exciting parts so much better.”

The wheels in Emily’s head were spinning. “That’s a lot of intimate stuff to share with the world. What about work? Are they okay with this?”

“That’s the best part. I spent the last six months getting sponsorships so I don’t have to work. Beer companies, restaurants, clothing, even a car company bought in. This spring I’m going on a cruise, all expenses paid. I’m even going to amusement parks and other cool places. It turned out to be very lucrative,” said Nathan.

This got the attention of a woman who was eavesdropping behind him. Emily’s eyes flared.

“Excuse me, we’re having a private conversation here,” said Emily. She pulled Nathan away from the interloper. “A cruise, huh? Any room for a guest?”

Nathan raised and eyebrow. “That depends. Do you want to go because it’s with me or because you wanna be famous?”

Emily put her hand on Nathan’s chest. “Baby, love is fleeting, but fame is forever.”

“That’s what I call a partnership,” said Nathan. “I’ll have the contract written up next week.”

Emily pulled Nathan into a deep kiss. “Happy New Year, baby.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Years for the Millenial Age

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    If it was that easy! Instead of “life in a day”, it could be “life in the year”!

  2. Pat says:

    Elaine will watch that show for sure. Anything called realitity. Sounds strange to me.

  3. afarawayhome says:

    I like this story, I can definitely imagine someone doing this! Happy new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

