How Not To Be Boring

Exciting x Boring creative sign with clouds as the background

When Bryce arrived at the party, he scanned the room for anyone he recognized. Spotting Christina, he took a quick step behind a lamp. She was alone, standing at the food table, looking eagerly at the crowd. The movement by Bryce caught her attention. She immediately swooped in.

“I took a course last weekend,” she announced.

Bryce grimaced, then said, “Self-improvement is commendable.”

“Know what it was? It was ‘How Not to be Boring’,” said Christina.

“I didn’t know there were courses about that sort of thing.”

“There are, and know what? It changed my life,” said a bright eyed Christina.

“It’s great news,” said Bryce. He desperately looked around for someone to save him.

“Wanna know how?”

“Maybe?”

Christina laughed and touched his arm. “You’re so funny.”

Bryce nodded nervously. “Thanks.”

“I learned the key to being interesting is empathy,” declared Christina.

“Sounds good.”

“I know, right? Empathy is all about bonding emotionally through shared human experience.”

“Wow,” said Bryce. He took a sip of punch.

“When I heard that it was like, boom! Mind blown.”

“I can imagine,” said Bryce.

“Have you ever been in a situation that blew your mind?” asked Christina. She pulled him close.

“Uh, yeah,” replied Bryce.

Christina leaned in and whispered in Bryce’s ear. “Remember what that felt like?”

“Sure, I guess.”

“How did it make you feel?”

“Well,” said Bryce, backing against a wall, “it blew my mind.”

Christina laughed louder than was socially acceptable. “Exactly! You know exactly how I felt. Amazing.”

“You’re right.” An idea flashed in Bryce’s mind. “Hey, I need to find the little boy’s room.”

“Oh, no problem. I’ll wait for you.”

“Uh, thanks,” said Bryce. He walked out the door, leaving his coat behind.

Christina nodded her head and smiled. “Bonding accomplished.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

