Theoretical Backgammon

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the Thursday after the blizzard, Carlos went to the office and met Bruno, buried in his third coffee of the morning.

“Rough days, eh?” asked Carlos.

Bruno grunted.

“What’s with you?”

“You have no idea,” grumbled Bruno.

Carlos rolled his eyes. “Like we all didn’t have to shovel a couple of tons of snow.”

Bruno glared over his mug at Carlos. “That was only the half of it. The whole family had the flu.”

The revelation made Carlos whistle. “Okay, that’s a lot worse. How’d you cope?”

“I did what any good husband and father would do. I hid in the basement until the worst was over.”

“Binge watch Netflix, eh?” laughed Carlos.

“Nah,” scoffed Bruno. “I actually did something constructive. I learned how to play backgammon.”

“By yourself?”

“In fifteen helpful Youtube videos.”

“So have you played an actual game?” asked Carlos.

“No, but now I know how to. The other day I watched a video on how to make those cool looking rings out of wood and resin,” explained Bruno.

“Do you have the tools to make one yourself?” asked Carlos.

Bruno cringed. “Of course not. That’s not the point. I’m learning. Keeping the mind sharp. My next project is learn how to make a watch from scratch.”

“But you won’t actually build one?” asked Carlos.

“Who has patience for that? Besides, it’s not about what you do, it’s what you know, You know what they say, ‘knowledge is power’,” explained Bruno.

Carlos rolled his eyes as he sat at his cubicle. “I think in this case ‘they’ might horribly mistaken.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Theoretical Backgammon

  1. Pat says:

    I just love it. I wonder how many people actually think this way. Scary.

  2. Pat says:

    in theory I can preform brain surgery. Are there any takers out there? I sleep at a Holiday Inn once. Lol

Leave a Reply

