Investigative Dating

taking photograph of food on mobile phone

It was a big night for Grayson. He took Betty to the best restaurant he could afford. This was the best chance to impress his latest crush.

When the meals came, Betty pulled out her cell phone and took a picture of her plate.

“What are you doing?” asked Grayson.

“It’s a hobby of mine. I take a picture of every meal before I eat it,” explained Betty.

“What do you do with them?”

“With what?”

“The pictures. Do you like to go back and reminisce about your special meals?” asked Grayson.

“No,” said Betty. “I just keep them.”

“Huh.”

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“Tell me.”

“Well,” said Grayson, hesitantly. He was worried he might offend her. “It just seems a little pointless to me.”

“Not at all. It can be very exciting,” she replied. “I started taking pictures of my coffees because I noticed they were all different shades of brown. It turns out the Morton’s Coffee Pub cream dispensers were irregularly calibrated. Sometimes they’d give half a serving. Other times they’d give two or even three times the required amount.”

“I had no idea,” said Grayson.

“It became a big story. It was even reported on the news.”

“You’re a regular Woodward and Bernstein,” said Grayson.

Betty tilted her head. “Are they photographers, too?”

“They were the reporters who uncovered the Watergate scandal that brought down the Nixon presidency,” explained Grayson.

Betty responded with a blank stare. “I don’t know anything about that. I just like pictures of the food I eat.”

Grayson smiled and rested his chin on the palm of his hand. He now knew all he needed to know about his crush.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Investigative Dating

  1. cat9984 says:

    I asked someone whether they ever deleted the pictures of food they had eaten. She looked at me like I was nuts. I felt better about the 20 pictures of my cat.

Leave a Reply

