The U-Turn Analysis

iu

Ken and Barry were carpooling on their way to work on Wednesday morning. Without warning, the car ahead of them made a u-turn and sped down the street in the opposite direction.

“Whoa,” exclaimed Ken. “I’m not sure that was even legal.”

Barry looked back where the incident occurred. “I didn’t see a sign saying not to, so it must be okay.”

Ken nodded his head. “It’s funny you say that. There are two kinds of drivers. One kind doesn’t do anything unless there’s a sign saying it’s okay. The other assumes everything’s legal unless there’s a sign saying it isn’t.”

“Then again, there are those who are doing things that are illegal and don’t know it because the law changed out from under them,” said Barry.

“It sounds like you’re speaking from experience.”

“Well,” sighed Barry. “Stupid politicians gotta justify their existence some how.”

“Barry, you almost sound libertarian,” said Ken.

“Look, all I ask from my government is two things. First, leave me alone as much as humanly possible. I can live my life well enough on my own, thank you. I don’t need the government holding my hand. Second, since we need social programs and roads and defence and stuff…”

“Absolutely,” interrupted Ken.

“Then do it efficiently. That’s all I ask. Don’t waste my tax dollars.”

“That sounds reasonable,” said Ken.

Barry shook his head. “Reasonable, yes. Reality? Never. I might as well believe in Santa Claus.”

“Barry?” Ken asked with a glint in his eye.

“What.”

“Merry Christmas,” laughed Ken.

Barry scowled. “Bah humbug!

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

