The Engagement Ring

iu

It was after the dessert was ordered during their candle lit dinner when Colin dropped to one knee before his girlfriend.

Pattie covered her mouth. “What’s happening?” she gasped.

Colin opened a jewelry box with a large solitaire diamond ring. Pattie’s jaw dropped.

“Pattie, will you marry me?” asked Colin. He had a quiver in his voice.

“Yes,” she said, then embraced her newly betrothed. She admired the ring as she slipped it on her finger. “How could you afford such a big diamond?”

“It’s grandma,” replied Colin.

Pattie’s eyes filled with tears. “It was your grandmother’s? That’s so romantic.”

“No,” said Colin. “It’s my grandma.”

Pattie’s expression shifted from delight to abject confusion. “Huh?”

“When my grandma died, she was cremated, There’s a company in Europe that takes the ashes of loved ones and turns them into lab created diamonds,” explained Colin.

“Are you saying…” started Pattie.

“You’re wearing my grandma on your hand. It was a condition of her will I use it as an engagement ring,” finished Colin. He cringed in expectation of her reaction.

Her face softened. “That is so beautiful.”

“So that’s a yes?” asked Colin.

“Absolutely. Yes.” Pattie grasped Colin’s face and gave him a passionate kiss.

Colin sighed deeply. “Finally,” he whispered.

“What did you just say?” snapped Pattie.

Colin blushed. “What? Nothing.”

“You said finally. Am I the first person you offered this ring to? Well?”

“No,” muttered Colin.

“I’m the second? That’s not so bad I guess,” pondered Pattie. She started to settle down until she notice Colin avoid eye contact. “How may others?” she demanded.

“Seven.”

“I’m the eighth?”

“But you’re the first one who didn’t think my ring was creepy,” encouraged Colin.

It didn’t help his cause. Pattie pulled the ring from her finger and set it on the table.

“Out of respect to your grandmother I won’t throw this in the gutter,” she said, right before storming off.

Colin was left in silent horror. “I was so close.”

From behind the corner a man in an expensive suit appeared. He looked at Colin, shaking his head in disapproval. “You are undoubtedly the biggest fool I’ve ever met.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Engagement Ring

  1. Pat says:

    It is creepy!

Leave a Reply

