The Sixth Sauce

iu

A customer approached a restaurant counter and ordered a side of potato wedges.

“Would you like a dipping sauce with that?” asked the restaurant employee.

“What are my options?” asked the customer.

“Let me see,” said the employee. “We have mustard, honey mustard, ranch, peppercorn ranch, mayo, spicy mayo, honey, barbecue, buffalo, sriracha sauce,” said the employee.

The customer thought for a second. “What was the sixth one you mentioned?”

The employee laughed. “Good one.”

“Why is that funny?” said the straight-faced customer.

“Oh, uh, I thought you were making a joke,” said the employee.

“I want to know the sixth sauce you mentioned,” said the customer.

“I don’t remember which one that was.”

“Why not? You work here don’t you?” accused the customer.

The employee blushed. “Yes, but, well.”

“Take your time. I’ve got all the time in the world,” quipped the customer.

“Was it honey?”

“Nope.”

“Ranch?”

“Nope.”

“Do you know what the sixth one was?” asked the employee.

“Of course. I want you to tell it to me,” said the customer.

“Why?”

“Because it’s your job!” bellowed the customer.

The employee looked around for help, but found none. “Mayo?” she begged.

“You’re getting closer,” said the customer.

“Spicy mayo.”

“That’s the one!” said the customer.

The flustered employee sighed. “Finally.”

“What makes the mayo spicy?” asked the customer.

The employee punched the till.

Behind the customer, two others watched the events unfold. One turned to the other and whispered, “That’s why I refused to ever work customer service.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sixth Sauce

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    Ummmmm…40 years of it and would do it all over again!

  2. A good reason indeed. Funny!

Leave a Reply

