What Do You Love About Me?

iu

The unexpected downpour in July sucked the joy from Alicia’s summer. “Not again.”

Ben came up and slipped his arm around her waist. “It certainly makes everything look greener.”

Alicia thought how misery loves company only if it’s just as miserable. “The rain makes me feel cold.”

“It’s been the best year for raspberries we’ve ever had,” replied Ben.

“Do you always have to look on the bright side of everything?” complained Alicia.

“I thought that’s what you loved about me,” replied Ben.

Instead of a reply, Alicia nestled in Ben’s arms. After a few moments of watching the rain, she asked, “What do you love about me?”

“Everything,” replied Ben.

His answer was greeted with an elbow into his stomach. “That’s not an answer.”

“Sure it is.”

“I want something more specific,” said Alicia. “And not something obvious.”

“What would be obvious?”

“Like, that I’m sexy.”

“I wasn’t gonna say that,” said Ben.

Alicia pulled away from his grasp. “What do you mean by that?”

“Exactly what you said. I knew you wouldn’t believe that anyway,” said Ben.

“I wouldn’t, would I?” accused Alicia.

“No. You’re far to hard on yourself about your looks. It’s weird,” said Ben.

“I’m weird now?”

A smile spread across Ben’s lips. “Since you brought it up…”

“That’s not funny,” grumbled Alicia.

“You’d have to be weird to be with me,” said Ben.

Alicia glared back at him. “Good save.”

“That’s what you love about me,” said Ben.

“Uh huh,” grunted Alicia. “You still haven’t said what you love about me.”

“It’s really very easy. You have extraordinarily good taste,” said Ben.

Alicia elbowed him again. “You’re a jerk,” she said with a coy smile.

“But at least I’m lovable.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

