The Wisdom of Making Your Bed

iu

When Katie married Clayton, one of the first things she learned about him was his habit of making the bed. It was the very first thing he did after he woke in the morning. On days when he was up first, he’d wait until Katie got up and he’d go in and tidy the sheets.

One morning, after completing his morning ritual, Clayton joined Katie in the kitchen. She handed him a coffee with a smile and said, “I didn’t know your mom raised you so well.”

“What do you mean?” asked Clayton.

“Making the bed every day. It’s cute,” said Katie.

Clayton shrugged. “That wasn’t mom. I did that on my own.”

“Really? Why?”

“It’s the first accomplishment of the day. It’s starting the day on a positive note, a foundation for the rest of my schedule,” he explained.

Katie thought about it as she took a sip of her coffee. “Never thought about it that way before.”

“If my day turns out bad, at least I can come home to a well made bed. It’s a comfort, like a reassurance that the next day might be better.”

“That’s strangely well thought out,” said Katie. She wrapped her arms around her husband. “Who knew I married such a wise man?”

“We wise folk are notoriously poor self-promoters,” said Clayton. “It goes against the code.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, short fiction, short story, story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wisdom of Making Your Bed

  1. Less humourous, but still good is Kathleen Norris’s line about how making the bed is an act of hospitality to yourself.

    • vanyieck says:

      After I wrote this story I was surprised to learn how many people value the importance of a well made bed.

Leave a Reply

