Smart Thinking

iu

Oliver met his new neighbour Alex one evening at a backyard barbecue.

“So, what do you do?” asked Oliver.

“I’m in sales. I sell burial plots,” replied Alex.

Oliver unconsciously took a step backward. “I didn’t know people did that.”

“Absolutely. In fact, the secondary market is hot right now,” said Alex.

Alex chuckled watching Oliver’s jaw drop.

“I don’t even know what to say about that,” admitted Oliver.

“It’s not as weird as you think. People buy and sell burial plots all the time,” explained Alex.

“Why?”

“Someone buys a plot next to a partner, then the relationship falls apart. They don’t want to spend eternity lying next to their ex. Sometimes people decided to get cremated and share a plot. Other times they find a better spot for their final resting place,” said Alex.

“How did you get into that? Is there a program at college or something?”

“It’s funny you should ask that,” said Alex. “After high school when all my friends were looking at universities, I looked around to see what industries would be important in the future.”

“That’s smart thinking,” said Oliver.

“There are seven and a half billion people in the world, and all of them are going to die some day.”

“That’s kinda morbid.”

“Maybe, but there’s a lot of money in death,” concluded Alex.

“You do know how ghoulish that sounds, right?”

Alex smiled. “I think of it this way, the dead are helping to support the living one last time.”

Oliver looked around. “I should really check on my wife.”

“No worries,” said Alex. “One way or the other, we’ll meet again.”

Oliver shivered as he walked away.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Smart Thinking

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    “Someone buys a plot next to a partner, then the relationship falls apart. They don’t want to spend eternity lying next to their ex. Sometimes people decided to get cremated and share a plot. Other times they find a better spot for their final resting place,” said Alex.
    That”s so funny!!!!!

  2. Pat says:

    Maybe I made the wrong career choice!!!!! Follow the money.

Leave a Reply

