The Thin Line

iu

“I saw the guy on TV last night. I’m telling you, he’s a ticking time bomb. A complete nut case,” argued Cassidy.

“Look, he’s unconventional, but you gotta admit he’s a marketing genius. Nobody manipulates the media as well as he does,” responded Aaron.

“I heard the line between genius and insanity was thin, but…”

Before she could finish her sentence, Aaron slipped on the top step of the stairwell and slid butt first down a flight of stairs.

“Oh!” exclaimed Cassidy. “Are you alright?”

Aaron sat at the base of the stairs assessing his faculties. His right butt cheek hurt the worst, but his elbows also throbbed.

“I think so,” he said. He slowly started to get up. That was when he noticed his back was getting stiff.

In the stairwell Aaron thought he heard the echo of giggling.

“Are you getting a kick out of this?” he asked Cassidy.

“Well,” she admitted, “I do wish I caught it on video so I could put it on Fail Army.”

“You’re sympathy is overwhelming,” scoffed Aaron.

“Sentimentality doesn’t make you viral on the internet.”

“Do you want me to do it again so you can film it?” asked Aaron.

“You’d do that? What would be awesome!”

“No!” shouted Aaron. The echo in the stairwell was deafening.

“Geez. You don’t have to be so sensitive,” said Cassidy.

“Not as sensitive as my butt feels right now.”

Cassidy laughed. “How do you expect me to be sympathetic when you say funny stuff like that?”

Aaron sighed. “Apparently the line between comedy and concern is thin, too.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Thin Line

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    You might say that he was the”butt”of the joke!

  2. cat9984 says:

    It amazes me how many videos there are of people needing help that have no one actually helping the person. Is the person making the video the only other person there? Why aren’t they helping?

  3. Pat says:

    As my Dad use to say” You will only find sympathy in the dictionary between shit and syphilis.” LOL

Leave a Reply

