Right Answer

iu

“If your life was turned into a musical, what genre of music would it be and why?” asked Gloria, the Director of Diversity and Social Engagement.

Thomas shifted uncomfortably in his seat in the conference room. He dreaded these sorts of questions. Even worse, he hated musicals.

“Who wants to share first?” asked Gloria.

From the closest chair, Olivia raised her hand.

“Yes,” encouraged Gloria.

“I’d choose the music of Taylor Swift,” said Olivia with a giggle. “Her songs really speak to me.”

In the next chair, Heather tapped Olivia’s shoulder. “I feel the same way about Adele.”

The two smiled at each other under Gloria’s smiling approval.

“Very good. Who wants to go next?” asked Gloria.

“I want the Beatles to be my soundtrack,” said Fred.

“Excellent,” replied Gloria.

Thomas knew Fred would get extra brownie points for being the first guy to share.

“What about you…” said Gloria, scanning the room, “Thomas.”

Thomas froze. He said the first thing that popped into his head.

“Weird Al.”

A giggle was heard.

“Who?”

“Weird Al Yankovic,” replied Thomas. He said it, so he might as well own it.

“That’s not a musical genre,” said Olivia.

“It’s barely even music,” added Heather.

“Hold on,” said Gloria. “Thomas, why did you choose him?”

Thomas frowned. “Who said my life couldn’t be a comedy?”

A silence fell over the room. Gloria thought for a second, then laughed. “I’ve never heard that before. Very clever, Thomas.”

The room erupted with a combination of congratulations and complaint. Behind him someone spoke up. “Then I want to be a video game. I pick the Skyrim soundtrack.”

Thomas sat back and relaxed with a smile on his face.

 

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is particularly interesting. All I can claim is Christ, and Him crucified. He is my Lord, my Saviour and my King.
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Right Answer

  1. Anthony Trudgian says:

    Mine would be the soundtrack to Mr. Brian’s Vacation!!!

  2. Anthony Trudgian says:

    Sorry…Mr. Beans Vacation! Stupid Autocorrect

Leave a comment